How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{October 10, 2010}   Happy Birthday Tim

Hello everyone! Welcome.

I am posting this Sunday night, so the actual date is a little off. Just imagine, as I intended, the posting date is Monday 10/11/2010.

Today is my brother’s birthday. I told you about him. Tim was my best friend growing up. As a matter of fact, when we both became adults and I got married, we lived next door to each other. My husband became his best friend as well.

It was the three of us. Well, the four of us when he was with his girlfriend. But no matter what, Tim, Guy and I always hung out together. It was a daily routine for one of us to call the other and say “what are you fixing for dinner?”. Whoever was fixing what sounded like the better dinner, that’s where we all ate. It was a great time in my life. I am so blessed to have this memory of him, of us.

When my brother died in 1991, needless to say, my world changed. But I do not want to dwell on the tragedy of his death. Instead, I want to celebrate his life. We had him for 26 years. We have 26 years of memories, good and bad.

When I think of all the good memories, there is one that sticks in my mind and always has. It may sound silly to you, but it’s one of those “you had to be there” things. See, when my brother drank, when he was into his third beer or so, he would get on this kick about …..HESS gas. Of all things to talk about, he would always fall back into his typical rant about the benefits of Hess gas.

It is so funny to me now, actually it was funny then as well! Tim would get “in his cups” and spout the superiority of Hess gas. I’d like to share his drunken view on this subject, if you’ll allow me a moment of reminiscing.

        Tim:  “I don’t care what anyone says, there ain’t nothing wrong with Hess gas. They

                     may add detergents in it; but they ain’t nothing wrong with Hess gas. It’s cheaper

                     but it’s just as good as any other and better because it’s cheaper. Nothing wrong

                    with Hess gas.” This would go on for hours.

He said this with a grin that went from ear to ear and in such a happy mood. With all the years of depression he battled, these moments were rare at times.

I know it sounds dumb and well, just plain crazy…..but this is one of the most endearing memories of him that sticks with me. He was sooo proud of that “Hess gas”!

So, Tim….I will remember the benefits of Hess gas, today on your day, and enjoy a laugh as I know you would be still doing if you were with us.

Until next time….PEACE

AJ

ted jr says:

I miss him so much! I may not show it but he is always on my mind.



Guys….my oldest brother … 🙂

I know you miss him and love him! You don’t have to assure me of that. We all deal with these things in our own way. It’s only important that it be a HEALTHY way, and I know you are doing that. That’s what matters! Let’s just make a vow to celebrate his life and especially on today of all days and try to put OUR saddness on the shelf for this day.

Let’s remember all the stories, the Hess story, the getting buzzed and him and Guy going into that abandoned house and bringing me this HUGE GREEN ELECTRIC stove on my first anniversary, when my kitchen was so small that all I had room for was one of those mini stoves…AND it was gas!!! I guess it sounded good at the time!

We have so many good memories of him….that’s what we need to focus on today. Even if you only do it in your mind. I know, however, the girls and Jackie would love to hear some of the crazy stories we have as kids!

I love you brother…never doubt that!

AJ



This is awesome; the way you remember the “fun times” with your brother. Tim has not left the building, this you know. He is in a lot of folks, you see him, definitely the ones that met him.

Rock on!



Absolutely. He is in his daughter. He is in his grandson. We were looking at old pictures the other day and Tim was about 4 or so sitting on Santa’s lap and had that look. You know the one….where his ins on the verge of tears but won’t let them fall…well, his 2 yr old grandson did the same look the other day…..same exact look! It was awesome to see Tim in him. I showed his daughter (who was 2 1/2 when he died) and she started crying how close it looked like her son.

From this day forward, I will forever remember this day, his birthday, as a celebration. No mourning allowed!

I’m going to be researching those sites you gave me tomorrow. That’s my main goal. So, I’m sure I’ll talk with you tomorrow if you will be around.

Thanks as aways! Btw, You were my 100 hit today! pretty cool

AJ



Leave a Reply

et cetera
