How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{October 14, 2010}   Yankee, Mets and Braves

Hi everyone, welcome!

I am in a bit of a dilemma. Everyone that knows me, knows I bleed red and blue….Atlanta Braves red and blue. I mean, everything I sign up for I try to use the name asjbraves. I sincerely get pissed when it’s taken and I have to add to it. But there are enough players that I love and I can add their jersey number to it.

Since I was ten or so, and saw the Braves play on TBS I have loved them. But as soon as I saw that magnificent #3, Dale Murphy, I was HOOKED. I still love Dale. He’s a wonderful guy and does a lot for the youth, even if at last count, he had 8 boys of his own. You heard me right.

The Braves have been a constant in my life. Dale, Bob Horner and Bruce Benedict, those are the people I knew and grew up watching. Back when Bobby Cox was the Assistant Manager and Joe Torre was the manager. I have a lot of memories that center around the Braves. I remember when Pascual Perez stubbornly went to the locker room and put a turtleneck shirt under his jersey instead of taking off a “disrupting” gold chain then went on to continue pitching (hey, I was with him all the way on this one). Did I mention it was in the mid to high 90’s? I remember, very clearly, how I cried and cried and then cried some more when they traded Brett Butler. They even played a song for his last game “Every Breath You Take” by The Police, showing clips of his career in Atlanta. They are really inter-grained into my life.

This brings me to this unusual confliction I am having. See, when I became an adult, I still loved the Braves. But I also loved…..Mike Piazza. Whose with me on that? So, it was ok for me to like the Dodgers and then later the New York Mets as second best because Mike played for those teams. However, the Braves have always stayed in the top spot. And still do. I even once considered getting a Braves tattoo. Either the tomahawk or the “A” that stood for the Braves.

So what is the problem? A little over a year ago, I moved out in the middle of no where. I was so far into the country, cable didn’t come out that far. We had so many trees that satellite could only get a 50% signal. Needless to say, I was limited to local channels. Whatever baseball that the local channels aired, I was restricted to. Surprisingly, even though I live so close to Georgia, they did not show many Braves games, very few Mets games but A LOT of Yankee games.

I began to know the Yankee players like I had known my Braves. Watching CC Sabathia pitch was like a work of art! Such a huge guy, but oh so smooth of a pitch!

Mark Teixeira at first base….beautiful site! Speaking of beautiful sites, watching Derek Jeter stride around the bases with amazing speed….well, let’s just say Jeter has a lot going for him!

So, now I have watched the Yankees for 2 years and not been able to watch the Braves at all. Holy crap! I was a Yankees fan!!! WHAT???? I had committed the ultimate betrayal.

I had to reassess everything I knew. I like the Yankees. I have followed them for 2 years. However, now that I am back at my dad’s and I have satellite, the Braves are now “actively” back on top!

I don’t think I’ll ever shake the fondness I have for the Yankees since they wormed their way into my heart. I’m just glad I bleed red and blue again!

Until next time…..Peace

AJ

I am Yankees fan when talking baseball but in reality I am football fan for life.
I am a Cowboys fan. Die-hard fan!
I don’t what I would do if I could no longer watch them. Maybe curl up and die!



Yea, liked the Cowboys too. But I love watching baseball! I liked it when it was just AL and NL,,,,so that they didn’t play each other during the season, just in playoffs! It was alot easier for me!!

AJ



[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by A.J., A.J.. A.J. said: Yankee, Mets and Braves: http://t.co/y6ISSME […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
