How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{October 25, 2010}   “A.J.’s Rules”

Hi Everyone! Welcome back!

I absolutely love the show NCIS on CBS. Sean Murray shines in his portrayal of the tech-geek, McGee, while somehow maintaining the charm we have learned to love. DiNozzo, played by the adorable Michael Weatherly, is a mixture of jock, attraction, cocky and a goof-ball personality that leaves me shaking my head and laughing at him (my type completely!). It’s hard to remember this is the same DiNozzo that put his heart on his sleeve only to have it shoved back by the beautiful Jeanne Benoit. Abby Sciuto (Pauley Perrette) is the heart of the team. She’s like the “Energizer Bunny” just give her a ‘Caff-Pow’ and she recharges and comes back for more.

Then there’s Ziva David. She is the most “wickedly awesome” female on CBS Network! I thought, Sasha Alexander (ex Agent Todd) was the perfect fit for this NCIS team, however, since Ziva had to step in due to Agent Todd’s death Ziva has certainly cemented her place on this wacky team It is hard not to love her. It’s not because I’m scared of her or anything, so what if she worked for the Mossad as an interrogator. Shhhhh, hold on, let me check and make sure the doors are locked. Ok, we’re good.

I tell you all of the above so that I can tell you this. Agent Gibbs, played by the wonderfully talented Mark Harman (give me a second while I gush over his strikingly handsome features), is very hard to define. At first, he appears to be a cold, I don’t care, it’s my way period sort of guy. Well, he is. However, he is much more once you scratch the surface. He is the most honorable, caring and trustworthy man we all hope for one day. Now, the most important thing with Gibbs are his rules. He has 51 rules you must know. You are not given a list of these rules. You have to learn the hard way. However, each one is as important as the next. Such as Rule #7, Always be specific when you lie (love that one). And Rule #23, Never mess with a Marine’s coffee if you want to live. Then there is my personal favorite Rule # 18 It’s better to seek forgiveness than ask for permission.

I was thinking this morning, “what would it be like to have a set of rules that I strive to achieve on a daily bases?”. Now, I know my rules would be vastly different than Gibb’s rules, after all, I don’t interrogate people. I don’t deal with suspects. And I don’t hunt down terrorist. However, the principal remains the same.

So, here are my rules, AJ’s Rules if you will. They are not in any specific order, just have some fun and go with me on this.

         1. ALWAYS be thankful even when you’re going through a rough patch.

                       Someone else is having a much harder time than you.

       2. Never, ever let your anger get the best of you.

       3.  When dealing with someone who seems to just want to argue or fight

                   with you, react with your head and not your emotions. Act rationally not

                   emotionally.

       4. Protect your friends and family as best you can. Good friends are

                 difficult to find and family well, they are your family and thereby

                 deserve your protection and respect.

      5.  Children first . . . ALWAYS.

      6.   Don’t lash out just because you are in a bad mood. Better to keep your

                 mouth shut than say something you will never be able to take back.

      7.  Don’t judge people. You don’t know what that person is dealing with and

            you don’t know what goes on behind closed doors. More importantly,

            you do not have the authority to judge, that is reserved for God alone.

     8.  Going with #7; never jump to conclusions about people. You may be

            passing up a great friend because you think that nose rings means

            this person is trouble.          

     9.  Reach out to people. Say hello when you pass a stranger on the street or

           give them a warm smile….they just may need it.

  10. God made us all in His image, however, we are all different. We have

          differing opinions. That is what makes us who we are. Respect others

          decisions whether you agree or not. Even if they do not respect your opinions.

         You can’t do anything about their reactions, however, you CAN do right by

         how YOU hand it. STAY FIRM IN WHO YOU ARE!!

   11. Don’t believe everything you hear. Just because you try to be honest does

            not mean everyone is as honest. There are at least two sides to each

            story. You are ONLY going to hear what this person wants you to

            believe. Especially, if you have not first hand knowledge of the

            situation. Then….it’s just gossip.

 And isn’t gossip one of the worst things we can do to someone as well as ourselves? Imagine how we look to others when we are seen gossiping.

Well, there you go, my blog family. My first set of 11 in the A.J.’s Rule book. I hope you had fun reading them. I’m sure I’ll come up with more!

If you are interesting in reading Gibb’s rules here is the link:

 http://www.mikeweatherly.com/2009/07/gibbs-rules-50-rules-but-only-these-have-been-revealed.html

 Til next time……Peace

 A.J.

I love this blog AJ. It was very poignant. Good job.



Thank you sweetie!!

Love ya!
AJ



Good rules. Mine would be whoever made dinner does not deserve to wash that dishes too.
Thats actually more for husband then for you.



Hey, you know my list is FAR from finished!! I already have 3 to add, one being ” those who cook, do not clean” !

Later,

AJ



alex1958 says:

I really dig number 10. In fact, 10 is my credo and has been forever. Intolerance sucks!

If I was going to add a rule, it would have to be free motorcycle parking world wide…



yea, #10 is a good one! I love that one too and try my hardest to live by all of these, but this one specifically.

And hey, I think free motorcycle parking worldwide is an awesome idea!!!! Now, if I could get my hands on a Harley!!!

AJ



Joanna says:

I found this through LeAnn Rimes tweet.

I’m a big NCIS fan! I loved how you described the team! 😀

You have some amazing rules!



Hi Joanna! Thank you for letting me know where you got the link from…..Leann is great! Good friend. I completely want to be Ziva!!! LOL I know, you being a NCIS fan, you know how difficult it is to describe some of the characters …uh, Gibbs. They each have so much different angles about them.

I was nervous about this one, I have to say. I wanted to do justice to each team member and paint a picture of each one, so that if someone read it that doesn’t watch NCIS, they will FEEL for them. So thank you so much for letting me know how you feel!

Thanks for the compliment on my rules….shouldn’t we all have some kind of self-rules we try to strive to achieve everyday? That would make for a much better world to live in, I believe.

I hope you will continue to come back, Joanna for more! I try to post a new one M-F….I would love to have you on board!!! you can also “subscribe” so that each time I post, and email will be sent to you.

If you’d like to follow me on twitter, my id is asjbraves….jst hit me up and let me know your Joanne, I’ll remember you!

Thanks again!!
AJ



Leave a Reply

et cetera
