How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{December 9, 2010}   In My Blood

Hello everyone! Welcome to my world! Buckle up, keep your hands and feet on the keyboard at all times, it’s always a crazy ride!

I’ve always said writing was in my blood because it came so easily to me. Now, that is just an expression, right? Well, maybe not.

Last year, my daughter had to find out some information on our ancestors. I could only go back to my grandparents on my father’s side and my great granny on my mom’s side. I can remember her so clearly because she was a mean lady from Georgia, and she had a really mean German Sheppard that I was terrified of. Oh, and I remember her chewing up some tobacco so she could put on my bee sting to take the “sting” out of it. That’s it. That is the memory of my mother’s grandmother. Now, it must be said, as remember her as mean (I was a small child at the time). My mother remembers her fondly. My mom was one of five girls, the oldest and her granny’s favorite.

Since I was so interested in history, I thought “I should look this up, see what I can find out. Every family has a story right?” However, I did have finals at the time. I was taking four college classes. But what the hay, this was family.

So, I set out on my search for whatever I could find out about my family that came before me. After quizzing my mom, my dad, my aunts and some cousins that I didn’t even know I had, I set out on ancestery.com to see what I could find. What I found was truly amazing, intriguing, and left me with a hunger to know more.

I’ll break it down for you and try to keep from going on and on about so many cool things and even some incidents surrounding in mystery. I will deal with each one at a later day in a short story to be posted on my website.

Throughout my search, I found: the first Oviatt (my dad’s side) to come to America and later became one of the 44 founding families of Hartford, CT. two Revolutionary soldiers, two Civil War heroes – one on each side; the Union Medal of Honor recipient would later became an author. But that’s not all. I also found: a murderer, one unsolved disappearance (not related to the murderer), a horrendous fire that claimed one life, a very famous author that would later become a vital part of our lives today, and a mystery so tightly kept, that I still don’t know what it is!

Wow, all these people were a part of my family. I never knew any of this. I couldn’t believe I had waited so long to do this research. What happened to my dad’s uncle that just disappeared off the face of the earth? What happened in South Carolina that made my dad’s grandfather to leave for Georgia? Why would he tell his second wife (hmmm, 2nd?) when she asked why he left South Carolina so suddenly respond “It’s none of your business, do not ask me again”? It appears the secret was buried with him. However, I continue to search.

Now, let’s get down to the nitty-gritty you’ve been waiting on. Who is the very famous author that I spoke of earlier? What did she write that changed our world forever? How is she related to me? This author has become a mainstay in the required readings of most middle and/or high school English classes?

Well, I’m going to tell you. On the day my website is launched Monday December 9, 2010! Sorry to be so mean, I really do not mean to be, but I want to launch the website with an amazing story and it doesn’t get better than this.

Here are some hints for those of you who may want to try to figure it out:

            1. I am related via my father’s side, Oviatt.

            2. Her writings changed life as she knew it then, and it changed the future.

So, you have two hints. I can’t give you more without being so open. However, what I can say, is I now believe they may be something to this whole “writing in my blood” thing after all.

I am so psyched to share this information with you on launch day Monday!!!

Until next time . . . PEACE

AJ

Wow I would be totally scared of your grandmother too.
DAng!



My great granny….yea, but I think it was just a memory of the dog and the tobacco and me being so young….



Anthony says:

WOW! Well you have me on the edge of my seat!



well..that is music to my ears..!!!!



GOOD!! that’s right here I want you!!!!



[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Trisha B. and gabrielle, A.J.. A.J. said: If u havnt. Already read, pls do! Big news!! In My Blood: http://t.co/NMJgeFu […]



RanFan1975 says:

Wow, AJ!! Ummmm, this would make me want to keep digging as well! Some truly deep deep family history for sure!! 😉 wow….I need to take the time and go back to my seartch that I started sometime back! May have some more leaves by now!! Good Luck To. You!!! :-). LOVIN this!! <3. Until next time…Peace,Love,and Happiness!



It’s very fun finding out so much cool stuff!!! there is so much more to come. Most will be written as short stories



oh, btw… ancesery.com has added a lot more info now



Leave a Reply

et cetera
