How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{March 15, 2011}   I Am One

 

Hello everyone! Welcome back.

I want to share something very close to my heart with you. I know I am usually spouting off about some random silly thing that has come to my attention, but this is a very serious concern for me.

Depression is a very ugly condition. It’s also a very common condition. According to the National Institute of Mental Health, approximately 6.7% of the U.S. population over the age of 18, suffer with depression. I am one of them.

What makes my depression so upsetting is most of the time, I don’t even know why it is I m depressed at that moment. All I know is that I am feeling down, I don’t want to go anywhere, I don’t want to do anything and I find it very hard to see the joyous part of my life. As much as I love to write, even that is difficult at times.

Depression is a real issue. It’s not a matter of saying “I’m not going to be depressed” and you are instantly feeling better. If only it were that easy! In my case, it’s a waiting game. I know eventually, it will pass and I will be back to my normal self.

However, I consider myself one of the fortunate ones. “Why?”, you may ask. Because even though I suffer through bouts of depression, I also have great times of enjoyment. A lot of people, who suffer from depression, don’t even remember a time in their life without depression and don’t experience that joy.

As I get older, I have realized what’s important in life and what is simply not worth my upset. I have come to really understand all things will pass. The good, bad and ugly – it will always pass. It only matters what we do during these times in our lives and how we handle ourselves. Are we going to just stay in bed as the depression wants? Are we going to make ourselves get out of that bed and make it through the day? My choice? Even though sometimes I have to remind myself, I choose to do something about it.

I will continue to get out of bed, be apart of my children’s lives and make a make my way in this world. Even when it’s the hardest thing I feel I can do at the moment.

If you suffer from depression, or know someone who does, please be patient with them. Show them support and encourage them to seek help.

“Whatever you find hardest to do, do with all your heart.” Dahlia Lama.

Until next time……Peace

A.J.

I applaud you girl for speaking out against it. There is a blogger that I read a lot. He set up a place where people are feeling depressed can go and be together to talk. He suffers from depression.
http://redriverpak.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/starting-the-online-depression-support-group/



Thanks luv…you know it’s not easy for me to open up about my personal demons…much easier to help others with their issues….I find joy in that…but dealing with my own…it’s hard…

I have his address and will contact him…since you know him…will you send him a tweet to my blog so he can read today’s?



Consider done Boss lady



And further more …. I am but a phone call, text, tweet away. Just tell me you feel like shit and I will name 15 things beautiful about you… and that will be just about your hair. Imagine your whole body. Dammmnnnn



Awww…you warm my heart. When I feel so down, I feel like a burden to everyone and tend to shy away until I feel better… I know we all need someone, sometime…I jst have to remember I ALWAYS have your guys!! I love you all!!



ERICKA DOBSON (DOBBIE1221) says:

Well, you have done it this time. I can so relate to this blog amazing job AJ! Thanks for writing about something that affects more people than anyone knows and for brining awareness.
Love ya xo xo
Ericka



Your so welcome…This has been a battle for me most of my life. And it’s so “untalked” about….people that do not have it just do not understand it. it’s an everyday battle….some days are better….some days are great…some days….are hell…. we just have to make the decision to get on with life, you know?

I am always here for you!!



TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

Hi AJ! My Name is Mark and I am the “Idiot” behind the blog “The Idiot Speaketh” that Marina told you about. I too battle Depression and have so for a number of years. I have a large blog family of mostly ladies and many of them also battle the Depression Demons. A few weeks ago, I set up a Private and Secret Facebook group where we all could meet to support each other when we are feeling down. Right now there are about 23 of us in the group. If you are on Facebook, I would be honored for you to join in the group. If you don’t want to comment or anything, that is fine, we have quite a few people who get support by just reading the threads. The main thing is that we all know that we are not alone in fighting this disease and Depression is not something we should be ashamed of. The way I see it, we are the “normal” ones and the “normal” people are the weirdos…. ha ha…. You can find me on Facebook under Mark G. Pakulak (I am the only one) I would be happy to add you as a friend and add you to the group if you would like. I will bookmark your blog and will pop back often. Have a great day!



Thanks! It’s good to meet you….always nice when you feel like you are all alone.

I’d love to sign up with your facebook….I’ll send you a request for sure.



Great post today! As we have talked about before, I’ve battled depression most of my life! Some days it gets so bad just taking a shower is a major accomplishment. All I think about is making sure my kids never have to not experience life because their mom can’t leave the house. Thanks for bringing awareness to this doll! 🙂



I know…it’s such a hard thing to admit to other people bc alot of people that don’t have it…just can not understand the depth of it… I too, have the shower issue…all of it…and you right, you try as hard as you can not to let the kids see it…

You are a great mom, just knowing that you are aware of your kids seeing you in a certain light will be with you always and that alone will help you put your best foot forward, even if you have to fake it. Believe me, I have to do the same thing.

I’m just glad I finally made the choice to post this. I actually wrote it back in January. You see how long it took me to get the courage to post it. But having it out there, I think will help me that much more.

I am always here for you as I know you are there for me….so please, call me or text me….whenever you need to -want to- or just for no reason!!! that’s what friends do 🙂

Love you!



Jezika says:

Love you honey! Take care of you 🙂



Thanks luv! I love you too!!



Brave…brave, and Brave! Bravo as well. But, what else could be expected from someone who is a total package.

Personally, I think more people suffer from depression than what is really known. A lot of people will just do what you do (wait it out) and not wonder why they feel that way…I do the very same thing.

And you know this; all you have to do is hunt me down. I’ll make your beautiful self feel good.



You are awesome and I love you!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
