How I Ended Up This Way's Blog











{July 2, 2012}   Yankees, Mets and Braves

Hi everyone, welcome! This blog is an updated version of a blog I wrote last year at the beginning of baseball season. Since it’s now that beautiful season we call baseball, I thought “what better time to release it again?” You all know I love my Braves!

I am in a bit of a dilemma. Anyone who knows me, know I bleed red and blue….Atlanta Braves red and blue. I mean, everything I sign up for I try to use the name “asjbraves”. I sincerely get pissed when it’s taken and I have to add to it. Thankfully there are enough players I like so I am able to just add their jersey number so it’s all good.

Since I was ten or so, and saw the Braves play on TBS for the first time, I have loved them. But as soon as I saw that magnificent #3, Dale Murphy, I was HOOKED. I still love Dale. He’s a wonderful guy and does a lot for the youth, even if at last count, he had something like 8 sons. Yes, you heard me correctly.

The Braves have been a constant in my life. Dale, Bob Horner and Bruce Benedict, these are the players i knew and grew up watching. Back when Bobby Cox was the Assistant Manager and Joe Torre was the manager. I have a lot of memories that center around the Braves. I remember when Pascual Perez stubbornly went to the locker room and put a turtleneck shirt under his jersey instead of taking off a “disrupting” gold chain then went on to continue pitching (hey, I was with him all the way on this one). Did I mention it was in the mid to high 90’s? I remember, very clearly, how I cried and cried and then cried some more when they traded Brett Butler to Cleveland. They even played a song for his last game “Every Breath You Take” by The Police, showing clips of his career in Atlanta. They are really inter-grained into my life.

This brings me to this unusual confliction I am having. See, when I became an adult, I still loved the Braves. But I also loved…..Mike Piazza. Whose with me on that? It was ok for me to like the Dodgers and then later the New York Mets as second best because Mike played for those teams. However, the Braves have always held the top spot. And still do. I even once considered getting a Braves tattoo. Either the tomahawk or the “A” that stood for the Braves. Awww the thoughts we have in our younger days. Luckily, I didn’t go as far as to get the tattoo.

So what is the problem? A little over a year ago, I moved out in the middle of no where. I was so far into the country, cable didn’t reach. We had so many trees that satellite could only get a 50% signal. Needless to say, I was limited to local channels. Whatever baseball game the local channels aired, I was restricted to. Surprisingly, even though I live so close to Georgia, they did not show many Braves games and very few Mets games. What they did air was ALOT of Yankee games.

I began to know the Yankee players like I had known my Braves. Watching CC Sabathia pitch was like a work of art! Such a huge guy, but oh so smooth of a pitch!

Mark Teixeira at first base….beautiful site! Speaking of beautiful sites, watching Derek Jeter stride around the bases with amazing speed….well, let’s just say Jeter has a lot going for him!

So, now I have watched the Yankees for 2 years and not been able to watch the Braves at all. It hit me all at once. Holy crap! I was a Yankees fan!!! WHAT???? I had committed the ultimate betrayal. What was I to do?

I had to reassess everything I knew. I like the Yankees. I have followed them for 2 years. However, now that I am back in an area with full satellite coverage, the Braves are now “actively” back on top. Yet, somehow now I feel a twinge, just a small one that the Yankees are in the second spot now.

I don’t think I’ll ever shake the fondness I have for the Yankees since they wormed their way into my heart. But I’m sure happy to be bleeding red and blue again!

Until next time…..Peace

AJ

aswingle says:

Go Braves!!!



AMEN friend!!! I love my Braves!! Dale Murphy is like “IT” to me…he has it all…and he’s a genuinely good guy. You know he’s on twitter know don’t you?

Thanks for reading and for your response!!
AJ



ryoko861 says:

So why can’t you bleed blue and red with pin stripes!?



Oh sweetie, it just doesn’t work that way :/ However, I CAN bleed red and blue yet save an itty-bitty space in the back corner of my heart strictly reserved for Yankees 🙂

Thanks for reading and for your comment!! I really do appreciate it!

BTW, I am working on 2 new blogs (I’ll still write for this one). I know you enjoy reading this one, I hope you will enjoy the other two as well!
Here is the link for the first one…
http://beautyredefind.wordpress.com/ I’m still working on the outline but it is up and going 🙂

Thanks AJ



Leave a Reply

et cetera
